地理信息系统(GIS)和空间数据
俄罗斯军事地形图
赫尔曼·B井的我最喜欢的一个区域图书馆收集地图是我们东欧的俄罗斯军事地形图的集合。集合包含超过4000个地图出版的东欧的俄罗斯,以及后来的苏联军队从1883年到1947年左右。在1970年代和80年代的苏联地形图是丰富的,我们的集合包含早些年和更详细的地图。在一些地图上,个体建筑清晰可见。地图是由军方内部使用,绝不是可以被外面的眼睛。很多床单带邮票宣称“秘密”或“不分配”,地图信息作为一个亲密的秘密举行的俄罗斯军队。然而,周围的世界大战的几年里,许多人在反对力量的领域,包括德国和美国军队。结果,无数来自机构通过的邮票,如柏林大学、美国陆军地图服务,和中央情报局地图图书馆,标志着地图和一个独特的和视觉的历史。地图被各种对立的力量,每个库上与他们的名字,他们的地图让我们跟踪这些地图的历史从俄罗斯和苏联军队在布卢明顿,印第安纳州。覆盖面积的收藏品包括东欧大部分地区将成为苏联的边境。 Changes in political boundaries, war, forced resettlement, and demographic shifts permanently changed Eastern Europe during this time. These maps provide scholars with a unique historical view of the pre-World War II landscape. Because the maps were captured in the field, this means that there are gaps in our collection. IU Libraries received these maps from a cataloging agreement with the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress may have a more complete collection, but their collection is unprocessed. Given that detailed maps of this part of the world are relatively rare for the pre-World War II period, our collection provides researchers with an important tool for studying change over time, as well as locating historical places whose names have changed or that may no longer exist. We were able to digitize this collection thanks to a grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources, or CLIR. The "Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives: Enabling New Scholarship Through Increasing Access to Unique Materials" is a national grant competition for digitizing rare and unique content in collecting institutions. This program is supported by the Andrew W Mellon Foundation. We've scanned each of the maps at a high resolution, georeferenced each sheet for use in GIS, and created detailed metadata for each of the 4,000 maps. The maps are richly described as you can see from the numerous metadata fields. Our main goal was to increase discoverability by recording information as printed on the maps, usually in Russian, but also Ukrainian, Finnish, and other languages. We also provide translations in English and transliteration when appropriate. We pay special attention to provenance and location information. We record the information provided by the stamps to document provenance and the various changes in hand. And we also record historical names of city, region, and country of focus, as well as contemporary names. This way, a researcher can get to the maps of interest by searching historical as well as present forms of names. This project would not be possible without funding from the Council on Library and Information Resources, and our amazing team!
在这里查看数字化集合:网上图片收藏
交互式地图索引收集所在地:https://iu.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=3003eaf8107048aeabd74b74a1481cb4
更多信息:
- IU图书馆主页——集合
- 国家地理-看到苏联机密地图,落入敌人之手
- 《连线》杂志-在俄罗斯的冷战地图的秘密世界
-
红色的阿特拉斯通过
近三十年在冷战结束之后,其遗产以及随之而来的俄美关系紧张依然严重。 Russia's access to detailed information on the United States and its allies may not seem so shocking in this day of data clouds and leaks, but long before we had satellite imagery of any neighborhood at a finger's reach, the amount the Soviet government knew about your family's city, street, and even your home would astonish you. Revealing how this was possible, The Red Atlas is the never-before-told story of the most comprehensive mapping endeavor in history and the surprising maps that resulted. From 1950 to 1990, the Soviet Army conducted a global topographic mapping program, creating large-scale maps for much of the world that included a diversity of detail that would have supported a full range of military planning. For big cities like New York, DC, and London to towns like Pontiac, MI and Galveston, TX, the Soviets gathered enough information to create street-level maps. What they chose to include on these maps can seem obvious like locations of factories and ports, or more surprising, such as building heights, road widths, and bridge capacities. Some of the detail suggests early satellite technology, while other specifics, like detailed depictions of depths and channels around rivers and harbors, could only have been gained by actual Soviet feet on the ground. The Red Atlas includes over 350 extracts from these incredible Cold War maps, exploring their provenance and cartographic techniques as well as what they can tell us about their makers and the Soviet initiatives that were going on all around us. A fantastic historical document of an era that sometimes seems less distant, The Red Atlas offers an uncanny view of the world through the eyes of Soviet strategists and spies.
ISBN: 9780226389578出版日期:2017-10-17 -
欧洲的边界映射通过
最简单的地图是一个理性的目的:教育,解决一个问题,有人在正确的方向上。地图形状和交流信息,为了改善方向。但地图存在状态以及个人,他们需要被解释为表达式的权力和知识,正如史蒂文Seegel表明在他令人印象深刻的和重要的新书。“映射EuropeOCOs边界”需要熟悉的国家和东欧国家建设的问题,提出了通过一个全新的棱镜,制图和制图师。从11个语言的来源,包括军事、historical-pedagogical,和人类学的地图,以及地理文学文本及相关制图,Seegel探索地图和地图的作用在东部欧洲中部边界从启蒙到凡尔赛条约。例如,Seegel解释俄罗斯如何使用制图在拿破仑战争之后,之后,形成的地理覆盖社会收集情报。他也解释了地图的重要性身份的形成和机构在波兰,乌克兰、俄罗斯和立陶宛,以及。Seegel结尾考虑cartographersOCO地区和社会经济背景的影响,教育,家庭,职业选择,choices.a和可用的语言
ISBN: 0226744272出版日期:2012-05-01