Linguistic side effects

Chung-chieh Shan

9 August 2007

1

Mind

Body



Mind Body Product Action Expression Execution

What does language do?

Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

"I pronounce you husband and wife"

Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

"I pronounce you husband and wife" "Deluge brings New York to its knees"



Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

> ERASE * n := 40; n + 2 (1..20)**2 + (1..20)**2 == (1..20)**2

Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

> ERASE * n := 40; n + 2 (1..20)**2 + (1..20)**2 == (1..20)**2

My thesis—Linguistic side effects Apparently noncompositional phenomena in natural languages can be analyzed like computational side effects.

Mind	Body
Product	Action
Expression	Execution

> ERASE * n := 40; n + 2 (1..20)**2 + (1..20)**2 == (1..20)**2

My thesis—Linguistic side effects

Apparently noncompositional phenomena in natural languages can be analyzed like computational side effects.

The analogous notions of evaluation context and order lead to more realistic theories of natural languages and better-understood designs of programming languages. Analogous notions of evaluation context and order

"I pronounce you husband and wife" "Deluge brings New York to its knees" "No representative from any company saw every sample"

> ERASE * n := 40; n + 2 (1..20)**2 + (1..20)**2 == (1..20)**2

Generalizes: quantifier scope, jump destination.

Analogous notions of evaluation context and order

"I pronounce you husband and wife" "Deluge brings New York to its knees" "No representative from any company saw every sample"

> ERASE * n := 40; n + 2 (1..20)**2 + (1..20)**2 == (1..20)**2

Generalizes: quantifier scope, jump destination.

More realistic theories of natural languages

Left-to-right evaluation order subsumes:

- In quantification, the preference for linear scope.
- In anaphora, the difficulty of weak crossover.
- In questions, the constraint against superiority.
- In polarity licensing, the sensitivity to linear precedence.

Everyone praised someone. Someone praised no one.

Everyone, praised his, mother. *His, mother praised everyone,.

> Who __ praised whom? *Whom did who praise __?

Nobody praised anybody. *Anybody praised nobody.

Side effects pit expression against context.

let x = (abort 1) in 2

Side effects pit expression against context.



Side effects pit expression against context.



Side effects pit expression against context.



Thanks to ...

Nate Ackerman, Amal Ahmed, David Ahn, Karlos Arregi, Peter Arvidson, Tamara Babaian, Chris Barker, Rachel Ben-Eliyahu-Zohary, Johan van Benthem, Raffaella Bernardi, William Byrd, Daniel Büring, Marco Carbone, Bob Carpenter, Balder ten Cate, Ruggiero Cavallo, Victoria Chang, David Chiang, Florin Constantin, Olivier Danvy, Veneeta Dayal, Elizabeth Denne, John Dias, Allyn Dimock, David Dowty, Matthias Felleisen, Andrzej Filinski, Kai von Fintel, Matthew Fluet, Danny Fox, Lisa Friedland, Daniel Friedman, Kobi Gal, Svetlana Godjevac, Rajeev Gore, Paul Govereau, Philippe de Groote, Barbara Grosz, Daniel Hardt, Robert Harper, Kelly Heffner, Irene Heim, Andre Henrigues, David Hiniker, Glenn Holloway, C.-T. James Huang, Luke Hunsberger, Rebecca Hwa, Sabine latridou, Pauline Jacobson, Micha Josephy, Aravind Joshi, Gerhard Jäger, Emir Kapancı, Oleg Kiselyov, Samuel Klein, Shriram Krishnamurthi, Susumu Kuno, Sebastien Lahaie, François Lamarche, Jo-wang Lin, Shine Lin, Harry Mairson, Chris Manning, Jan Midtgaard, Michael Moortgat, Richard Moot, Greg Morrisett, Radhika Nagpal, Peter Neergaard, Rani Nelken, Rebecca Nesson, Brenda Ng, Lynn Nichols, Jill Nickerson, Andreea Nicoara, Jonathan Nissenbaum, Richard Oehrle, David Parkes, Francis Jeffry Pelletier, Fernando Pereira, David Pesetsky, Simon Peyton Jones, Avi Pfeffer, Andrew Pimlott, Chris Potts, Johnn Prance, Michael Rabin, Antonio Ramirez, Norman Ramsey, Tim Rauenbusch, Kevin Redwine, Seth Riney, Janet Rosenbaum, Wheeler Ruml, Amr Sabry, Ivan Sag, Margo Seltzer, Pao-ching Shan, Stuart Shieber, Olin Shivers, Jeffrey Siskind, Christian Skalka, Paul Steckler, Matthew Stone, Kaihsu Tai, Autrijus Tang, Xiaopeng Tao, Geetika Tewari, Hayo Thielecke, Chris Thorpe, Dylan Thurston, Jean-Baptiste Tristan, David Van Horn, Willemijn Vermaat, Philip Wadler, Mitchell Wand, Yanling Wang, Susan Wieczorek, Yoad Winter, Noam Zeilberger, the United States National Science Foundation, and of course FoLLI and the Beth Award Committee.

Thanks to ...

Nate Ackerman, Amal Ahmed, David Ahn, Karlos Arregi, Peter Arvidson, Tamara Babaian, Chris Barker, Rachel Ben-Eliyahu-Zohary, Johan van Benthem, Raffaella Bernardi, William Byrd, Daniel Büring, Marco Carbone, Bob Carpenter, Balder ten Cate, Ruggiero Cavallo, Victoria Chang, David Chiang, Florin Constantin, Olivier Danvy, Veneeta Dayal, Elizabeth Denne, John Dias, Allyn Dimock, David Dowty, Matthias Felleisen, Andrzej Filinski, Kai von Fintel, Matthew Fluet, Danny Fox, Lisa Friedland, Daniel Friedman, Kobi Gal, Svetlana Godjevac, Rajeev Gore, Paul Govereau, Philippe de Groote, Barbara Grosz, Daniel Hardt, Robert Harper, Kelly Heffner, Irene Heim, Andre Henrigues, David Hiniker, Glenn Holloway, C.-T. James Huang, Luke Hunsberger, Rebecca Hwa, Sabine latridou, Pauline Jacobson, Micha Josephy, Aravind Joshi, Gerhard Jäger, Emir Kapancı, Oleg Kiselyov, Samuel Klein, Shriram Krishnamurthi, Susumu Kuno, Sebastien Lahaie, François Lamarche, Jo-wang Lin, Shine Lin, Harry Mairson, Chris Manning, Jan Midtgaard, Michael Moortgat, Richard Moot, Greg Morrisett, Radhika Nagpal, Peter Neergaard, Rani Nelken, Rebecca Nesson, Brenda Ng, Lynn Nichols, Jill Nickerson, Andreea Nicoara. Jonathan Nissenbaum, Richard Oehrle, David Parkes, Francis Jeffry Pelletier, Fernando Pereira, David Pesetsky, Simon Peyton Jones, Avi Pfeffer, Andrew Pimlott, Chris Potts, Johnn Prance, Michael Rabin, Antonio Ramirez, Norman Ramsey, Tim Rauenbusch, Kevin Redwine, Seth Riney, Janet Rosenbaum, Wheeler Ruml, Amr Sabry, Ivan Sag, Margo Seltzer, Pao-ching Shan, Stuart Shieber, Olin Shivers, Jeffrey Siskind, Christian Skalka, Paul Steckler, Matthew Stone, Kaihsu Tai, Autrijus Tang, Xiaopeng Tao, Geetika Tewari, Hayo Thielecke, Chris Thorpe, Dylan Thurston, Jean-Baptiste Tristan, David Van Horn, Willemijn Vermaat, Philip Wadler, Mitchell Wand, Yanling Wang, Susan Wieczorek, Yoad Winter, Noam Zeilberger, the United States National Science Foundation, and of course FoLLI and the Beth Award Committee.