Indiana University Department of Geography Newsletter

SUMMER 2016

Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship Awarded



Jonah Butler, of Trafalgar, Indiana, is this year's recipient of the Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship. This award is given annually to support undergraduate scholarships in Geography. Jonah, a Geography major, has shown a good work ethic, while maintaining a solid academic record. The scholarship will be used to offset academic expenses as he continues his education at Indiana University.

Congratulations Jonah!

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:

Baumann,
Johnson and
Outstanding
Senior Awards

Awards

William R. Black 2

Awards 3 Winners

Chair's 4
Awards

Friends of 5
Geography

Of Note 5

Leuthart Given Robert N. Johnson Scholarship

The recipient of the Robert N. Johnson Scholarship is **Kassandra Leuthart**, of Borden, Indiana. The Johnson Scholarship is given annually to a student majoring in Geography, who demonstrates academic merit and financial need.

Congratulations, Kassandra, as you continue your degree. at Indiana University!



Kimmel Named Outstanding Senior

The Outstanding Senior Award this year was given to **Lane Kimmel**. Lane concentrated in GIS and Remote Sensing and worked full time during his undergraduate career. He hails from Fishers, Indiana. Congratulations Lane on a job well done!



Christopher Meulbroek Awarded William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship

Christopher Meulbroek is the recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors the late W.R. (Bill) Black who was internationally renowned for his research on sustainable transportation. He also served twice as chairperson of the Department of Geography and was instrumental in founding Bloomington Transit, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and Conrail.

Christopher is a double major in Geography and Economics, he has shown a good work ethic, while maintaining a solid academic record. He was instrumental in the founding of the IU Geography Club.

Well done, Christopher!



Find Your Home in Geography

William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship Given to Trevis Matheus



This year's recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship is graduate student **Trevis Matheus**. His research focus is paleoclimate and his current research involves reconstruction of the climate record from tree rings. In addition to his work within the department, where he teaches Weather and Climate. Trevis has served in several posts within the IU Geography Graduate Student Association and volunteers with Big Brothers of Bloomington.

Congratulations Trevis!

Other Awards Night Recipients

Stephen S. Visher AwardG109 Weather and Climate *Awarded to Jacob Barker*



Norman J. G. Pounds Award
G120 World Regional Geography
Awarded to Hannah Stadler



Thomas F. Barton Award
G110 Human Geography
Jamie Lin Sanidad



Alumni AI Teaching AwardAwarded to Hamed Gholizadeh



Robert C. Kingsbury Award *Awarded to Beatrice Kutis*



John Odland Graduate Research Fellowship

Awarded to Samapriya Roy



Graduate Fellowships

Awarded to Beth Ciaravolo



Awarded to Paul McCord



Chair's Graduate Student Recognition Awards

Abdul Aijaz
Carmen Antreasian
Angela Babb
Jordan Blekking
William Burke
Beth Ciaravolo

Edgar Espinoza
Hamed Gholizadeh
Dan Johnston
Nian Liu
Trevis Matheus
Paul McCord

Tyler Schlachter
Anika Tabassum
Nicholas Vare
Matt Wenzel
Ryan Wyeth
Landon Yoder



From left to right: Nicholas Vare, Ryan Wyeth, Anika Tabassum, Trevis Matheus, Hamed Gholizadeh, Carmen Antreasian, Daniel Johnston, Tyler Schlachter, Beth Ciaravolo and Paul McCord.

Friends of the Department of Geography, 2015 / 2016

Melvin H. Aamodt **Curtis Knudsen** Rebecca Rupright **Majed Akhter** Dan and Linda Knudsen

James and Mary Babb **Daniel Knuth** Steven and Ingeborg Scheumann

Emmalean M. Baumann **Daniel Koch** Paul and Barbara Baumann Kraft Foods Group, Inc.

Donna Black Andrew Krmenec Marcia Sullivan and Steven Jansen

Bee and David Buergler John Marquis Angele and Paul Byskosh Robert Martin and Susan L. Schwartz

Joseph and Sharon Dearing John Nichols **Eric and Susan Wilcox**

Richard and Cynthia Dennerline John and Bonnie

Tom Evans and Jacqui Bauer **Stephen and Mary Pawlow**

Darren Ficklin Carol and Wade Peacock

Jonathan and Marna Gettleman Richard Piecewicz John Goetz Bruce Pigozzi, Ph.D.

Margaret Gross Janice Prentiss

Taehee Hwang **Beatriz and Deryl Richter**

Dan Johnston Deborah and James Riley

Karin Kiefer **Scott and Teresa Robeson** Mark Sadler

Eric Schweitzer

Marsha Selmer

Antonio Tebesceff

Chris Van Allen

Richard Wright and Sheila Colbert



Of Note:

While it is expected that faculty members attend and present at the Annual Meetings of the Association of American Geographers Meetings each year, the Department of Geography took the recent meetings in San Francisco by storm with a number of students presenting papers or posters at the meeting. Those presenting included:

Abdul Aijaz Dan Johnston Carmen Antreasian Angela Babb Lilly Brown **Trevis Matheus** Paul McCord **David Massey** Tyler Schlachter Nitasha Sharma

Steve Volan **Landon Yoder**

In closing, we thank our many incredible alumni who have made the many departmental awards for our students possible. We thank you very, very much!

Dan