# **Indiana** University

# **Department of Geography Newsletter**

SUMMER 2018

# Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship

#### Esmeralda Martinez

(shown with Rebecca Lave) is this year's recipient of the Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship.

Esmeralda notes that "Geography has offered me an overwhelming amount of knowledge regarding the environment's role in current societies." The Baumann



Award will allow her to focus on her studies and maximize her potential as a student.

# **Robert N. Johnson Scholarship**



**Kathleen Lich** is (shown with Dan Knudsen and Robert Johnson) is this year's recipient of the Robert N. Johnson Scholarship.

Kathleen likes how Geography allows her to combine her interests in the environment and social justice within a single degree. As an Alaskan, she looks forward to putting her skills to work there in the near future.

Congratulations, Kathleen, as you continue your degree at Indiana University!

#### INSIDE THIS ISSUE:

Baumann and Johnson Awards	I
Black Awards	2
Barton Awards	2
Banquet	2
Awards Winners	3
Recognition	3
Senior Luncheon	4
Friends of the Department	5

## Addison Lively Awarded William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship

Addison Lively is the recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors the late W.R. (Bill) Black who was internationally renowned for his research on sustainable transportation. He also served twice as chairperson of the Department of Geography and was instrumental in founding Bloomington Transit, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and Conrail.

Addison is an excellent student as well and she has been an active member of the Real Food Challenge Club. The group monitors food purchases by the university to assess the percentage of food purchased that qualifies as local, sustainable, humane and freely traded. It also assess levels of so-called "disqualifies" which are food additives. This summer, Addison took up the position of intern to the Food Working Group of the IU Office of Sustainability. Well done, Addison!



Find Your Home in Geography

### William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship Given to Megan Betz



This year's recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship is graduate student **Megan Betz**. Her research documents the spread of the community orchard movement in the United States. Megan has, in addition to being an excellent student, been instrumental in starting the food and agriculture curriculum in the department. Her course "Community Orchards and Gardens" has now officially been renamed "Alternative Urban Agriculture." Megan was a founding member of the Bloomington Community Orchard and serves on the Bloomington Food Council. She has recently taken a position with the Office of Service Learning on campus as she finishes up her Ph.D. Congratulations, Megan!

#### **Undergraduates Presented with Thomas F. Barton Awards**

G107 Physical Geography Yaorong Xie G110 Human Geography Joseph Raucci G314 Urban Geography Taylor Thomas

PAGE 3

# **Other Awards Night Recipients**

**Outstanding Senior** 

Kassandra Leuthart

Stephen S. Visher

Award

Groover

Awarded to

**Stephen S. Visher Award** G109 Weather and Climate Awarded to Jackson Avgerinos

**Stephen S. Visher Outstanding Paper** in Climatology Awarded to Ben Lockwood









**Outstanding Paper** on Indiana Awarded to Anna







Alumni Al Teaching Award Awarded to Allison Solomon

Fellowship Awarded to

Graduate Fellowship Awarded to Julie

Wasserman

Graduate

Allison

Solomon



John Odland Graduate Research Fellowship Awarded to

Tom Au



**Chair's Graduate Student Recognition Awards** 

- Abdul Aijaz Jordan Blekking **Edgar Espinoza** Marika Lapham Zawadi Rowe **Brandon Strange**
- Tom Au Josh Bregy Jessica Fan Ben Lockwood **Leonard Satterlee** Michelle VanCompernolle
- **Megan Betz Beth Ciaravolo Dan Johnston Mitchell Owens Allison Solomon** Julie Wasserman

## Indiana University Department of Geography Graduates

May 2018



#### December 2017

Paul Alexander, BA-GIS&RS Beatrice Kutis, BA Peter Mitenbuler, BA

#### August 2018

Beth Ciaravolo, Ph.D. Zawadi Rowe, MA Leonard Satterlee, MS Brandon Strange, MS Victor Holtz, BA Justin Joyce, BA

#### Jimmy Andrade, MA Joseph Barry, BA Jonah Butler, BA-GD&J Kassandra Leuthart, BA-F&A Christopher Van Allen, BA-GD&J





## A Note from the Chair



#### Friends,

Ah, summer! Like many other places, life is a little slower and a little quieter on the Bloomington campus during the summer. Much of the faculty is away doing research. We have faculty and graduate students in the field throughout the U.S. and Canada, and in Eurasia, Africa and South America. We hope each of you will be able to get a little time away to rejuvenate as well.

This summer issue of the newsletter is focused on our awards banquet. Each spring, we distribute a number of awards to students for academic achievement and for outstanding research. The number and size of awards has grown steadily in my time in the department and I think I can speak for both faculty and students when I say that we feel very fortunate to have so many incredible alumni who have made these awards possible. We thank you very, very much.

Soon, another school year will begin. The quiet of campus will be shattered by the arrival of nearly 50,000 students. And, of course, for a few weeks we will have to look both ways before crossing one of the many one-way streets Bloomington is so notorious for. Our pulse quickens and our heart pumps a little faster just as it does at the beginning of every school year. We will have another exciting year ahead of us—my last as chair.

Dan

# Friends of the Department of Geography, 2017

Angela M. Babb James & Mary Babb Barbara & Paul Baumann Emmalean M. Baumann Donna L. Black Joanne I. Breedlove Blanche B. Buergler Angele & Paul Byskosh **Dennis & Ruth Conway** Donna & Daniel Dull Darren Ficklin Jonathan & Marna Gettleman Hamed Gholizadeh Robert D. Hill Tae Hee Hwang Robert N. Johnson

Dan Johnston Daniel & Linda Knudsen Daniel J. Knuth Andrew Krmenec John M. Marquis David Massey John & Luminita Matthys David J. Meltz John T. Nichols John F. Owen Carol & Wade Peacock Bill & Kathleen Pershing Richard W. Piecewicz Beatriz J. Richter Steven & Ingeborg Scheumann Eric A. Schweitzer Laura A. Seifers Richard J. Seifers Marsha L. Selmer Nanda & Pamela Shresta Steven Jensen & Marcia Sullivan Louis M. Trapasso Rachel A. Van Bokkem Eric S. Wilcox Landon Yoder



Zawadi Rowe