Indiana University

Department of Geography Newsletter

SUMMER 2019

Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship

Emma Freestone is this year's recipient of the Paul W. and Marie K. Baumann Scholarship. Emma is a double major in Geography and Environmental Sustainability Studies focusing on Food Studies. Serving as a 2020 Sustainability Scholar, she has been active with the Campus Farm and the Critical Food Studies Lab, in addition to her studies. Congratulations Emma!



Robert N. Johnson Scholarship



Congratulations Chiara!

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:

Baumann and | Johnson Awards

Black 2 Awards

Barton 2 Awards

Visher and Gwin Awards

Senior and 4
Odland
Awards

Graduate ! Fellowships

Other (

Graduate Luncheon

Friends of the Department

Emma Freestone Awarded William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship

Emma Freestone is the recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Scholarship. Emma exemplifies the sense of service to the discipline and community embodied by the late W.R. Black. In addition to serving as a 2020 Sustainability Scholar, she has been active with the Campus Farm and the Critical Food Studies Lab. Emma helped design the Campus Farm and continues to volunteer there. The Campus Farm provides produce to the university's dining halls as well as to local food pantries. At the Critical Food Studies Lab she has been engaged with a project on "cliff effects" - the decrease in livelihood that occurs when households make too much to qualify for government and state safety net programs, but less than the living wage. Her cliff effects work is now being used at several of the food pantries in the Bloomington area to counsel clients.



William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship Given to Dan Meyers

Find Your Home in Geography



This year's recipient of the William R. Black Leadership Memorial Fellowship is graduate student Dan Myers. Daniel exemplifies the sense of service to the discipline and community embodied by the late W.R. Black. He recently participated in the annual meetings of the American Geophysical Union where he presented a poster that ties climate change to changes in stream sediment transport. Daniel also sits on the Bloomington Parks Environmental Resources Advisory Council where he advises Bloomington's Parks and Recreation Department on environmentally sensitive topics. Daniel is also an elected officer of both the Geography Graduate Students Organization and the Graduate Professional Student Organization. He is also a member of the College of Arts and Sciences Graduate Funding Task-

Undergraduates Presented with Thomas F. Barton Awards

G107 Physical Geography

Emily Throop

G110 Human Geography

Cappia Thompson

Gennie Thompson

G314 Urban Geography

Alexander Carlson



Barton award winner Emily Throop accepts her award from Dan Knudsen.

Find Your

Home in

Geography



Visher Climatology Paper award winner Josh Bregy (right) accepts his award from Darren Ficklin (left).



Edmond Gwin Award winner Alexis Whitacre accepts her award from Joe Gwin.

Outstanding
Senor award winner Hannah Davis
(left) accepts her award from Rebecca Lave
(right).



Find Your Home in Geography Jennifer Watkins receives the John Odland Graduate Research Award from Dan Knudsen.





Lydia Zakel (above left) and Mitchell Owens (below right) receive Departmental Graduate Fellowships from Darren Ficklin.



Other Awards Night Recipients

Stephen S. Visher Award

G109 Weather and Climate

Awarded to Natalie Ryan

Alumni AI Teaching Award

Awarded to

Tsun "Tom" Au

Norman Pounds Award

G120: World Regional Geography

Awarded to Luke Horton

Robert C. Kingsbury Award

G237 Mapping Our World

Awarded to Kaisa Goodman



Graduate Student Recognition Award winners (from left) Mitchell Owens, Jennifer Watkins, Alexis Whitacre, Josh Bregy, Dan Knudsen (Chair), Daniel Myers, Jordan Blekking, and Lydia Zakel.

Chair's Graduate Student Recognition Awards

Abdul Aijaz

Jordan Blekking

Dan Johnston

Daniel Myers

Sacha Siani

Alexis Whitacre

Tom Au

Josh Bregy

Marika Lapham

Mitchell Owens

Julie Wasserman

Lydia Zakel

Megan Betz

Jessica Fan

Ben Lockwood

Rubaya Pervin

Jennifer Watkins

Indiana University Department of Geography Graduates



Graduate Students Tsun Fung Au, MS Jessica Fan, PhD Marika Lapham, MS Stephen Volan, MA

Lydia Zakel, MA

Amanda Keene, BA Kyle Kirk, BA Matthew Leetz, BA Addison Lively, BA Robert Marsh, BA Hunter Rivera, BA





Undergraduate Students Christopher Bauters, BA Kexi Chen, BA Hannah Davis, BA Jared Eichmiller, BA Reid Geiger, BS















Friends of the Department of Geography, 2018

James & Mary Babb Dan & Linda Knudsen Steven & Ingeborg Scheumann

Emmalean Baumann Daniel Knuth Eric Schweitzer

Donna Black Daniel Koch Marsha Selmer

Tracy Black Andrew Krmenec Nanda & Pamela Shresta

Joanne Breedlove Paul McGinley Benjamin Sperl

Blanche & David Buergler John Nichols Louis Trapasso

Angele & Paul Byskosh Mary & Stephen Pawlow Rachel Van Bokkem

Richard Piecewicz

Dennis & Ruth Conway Carol & Wade Peacock Susan McKinney Wilcox & Eric Wilcox

Joseph & Sharon Dearing Bill & Kathleen Pershing

Leslie Fasone & Darren Ficklin Lalida & Kovit Poshyananda

Frederick Frisby Beatriz Richter

Daniel & Donna Dull

Tae Hee Hwang Rebecca Rupright

Steven Jansen & Marsha Sullivan Corey and Jennifer Rusk

give now

APRIL 10, 2019



Thank you to all—alumni, faculty and students—who made the Department of Geography's IU
Day Campaign a tremendous success!

ALL IV. ALL DAY.